Nominated for 2 Oscars:

-Best Actress in a Lead Role – Meryl Streep
-Best Costume Design

A period piece based on the life of socialite Florence Foster Jenkins. I went into this film not knowing much and honestly just wanted to see if Meryl Streep deserved her nomination or if the Academy was just giving it to her out of habit.

After watching however I can say that Meryl Streep gave a wonderful performance. Charming, funny and at the very end you can just truly feel for her character. The two supporting actors also gave brilliant performances – Hugh Grant and Simon Helberg.

Hugh Grant especially surprised me. There was some buzz that he was snubbed by the Oscars and I can see why people would say. There’s a line in the film where his character says, “I was a good actor. But I was never going to be a great actor.” and honestly that was my opinion of Mr. Grant before this film. Starring here and there in some romantic comedies I just never really took him seriously as an actor. But I was pleasantly surprised by his portrayal of a man fully devoted to his wife at all costs.

It’s a very light-hearted movie, you could even say it’s a “feel good” movie but nevertheless I enjoyed it.

Verdict: 7/10

 

