Nominated for 1 Oscar:

-Best Actor in a Lead Role – Viggo Mortensen

Let me just preface by saying you really need an open mind to watch this movie.

It was by far one of the strangest films I’ve watched from this past year but it was also one of the more beautiful ones.

Even from the opening scene all I could think was, “What the hell am I watching?” but somehow it got me hooked. It made me want to know more about what was going on.

Viggo Mortensen who many people affectionately remember as Aragorn from Lord of the Rings, plays Ben Cash a man living in the wilderness with his six children. At first I didn’t really see what was so great about him in this role but as the movie progressed I saw all the different situations and scenarios he was put in and how beautifully he acted throughout. And that one scene exiting “Steve” oh boyyyy.

The six children were also fantastic in there roles. They all had distinct traits that made them who they were and various talents that they showcased throughout the movie. And they all had some kickass names.

The pyre scene was great and there rendition of a classic song was just wow.

In the end, this movie is all about family. It made me laugh, it made me tear up, and it made me think.  Though the ideals that these kids are taught are good in theory, and in fact a lot of it is good just in general – sometimes a little of the “real world” is needed too.

“Power to the people. Stick it to the man.”

Verdict: 7.5/10

