Nominated for 8 Oscars:

-Best Picture
-Best Actor in a Supporting Role – Mahershala Ali
-Best Actress in a Supporting Role – Naomie Harris
-Best Director – Barry Jenkins
-Best Adapted Screenplay
-Best Cinematography
-Best Original Music Score
-Best Film Editing

I get it. I get why so many people are pulling for this film to win “Best Picture”. The acting by every single character is beautifully done, the cinematography shows the beauty of Miami while also showing the dirtiness of the low class neighborhoods. It addresses an issue that literally no one ever talks about but in the end did I actually enjoy this film? To an extent I enjoyed that it explored something new but if I’m honest I don’t think I would watch it again.

And while Mahershala Ali does play a pretty powerful fatherly figure he is literally in the film for 30 minutes…I just don’t see how someone who was in so little of a film could be the favorite to win. Unless the other nominees were that weak – which is completely untrue at least for Lucas Hedges.

I think in the end this movie played it too safe. Not only does it end open-ended but the fact that all the ending shows is a simple (yet understandably powerful) embrace kind of makes me feel like a missed opportunity. Which then brings me to – if the world wasn’t going through these issues (Trump, Black Lives Matter, immigration ban, etc.) would this movie still get the same buzz that it is right now? I am a full believer that the outside circumstances should in no way define how great a film really is.

So while yes Black Lives do matter and to put it even a step further – Gay Black Lives do matter. This film was a step in the right direction of portraying black people as somebody other than “gangsters” or “thugs” but it to me at least isn’t in my top two for “Best Picture” this year.

Verdict: 8/10

